Puzzles and pieces

 One of my favorite activities is to sit and work on a jigsaw puzzle and watch family gather to work together.  Curiosity, for those who find the task to be difficult, keeps some in the room and the obsessive compulsive need for puzzlers to keep finding pieces retains the rest.

20160720_081628.jpg

I found a magnificent 3D puzzle recently.  It reminded me of a movie, Miracles From Heaven that I had viewed.  It was the first 3D puzzle I had really attempted and it was difficult to find the correct pieces because the view kept changing, to the extent, that my eyes ached from the effort.  In fact, I got no help at all, instead of gathering one by one family members drifted off, uninterested in the labor required.

I am discovering it to be similar in following the call of Jesus.  The love that He so generously bestowed upon us and asks that we share in the same way is bountiful and glorious but those whom we wish to share with often don’t understand.  They want to receive but not give.  The effort of loving the unloveable makes our hearts ache but the reward is a spectacular picture of everchanging and yet never changing glory.

9-10-2009-17

In the infinity of time  in which God exists, our little period of life is but a dot, yet we struggle over every moment with intensity that creates more chaos than peace.  Letting GO is the HARDEST!  We think we can CONTROL things, events, people and yet we destroy the peaceful joy of the Spirit by grieving Him in acts of unlove.  Kindness in the face of hatred … gentleness in the midst of animosity are a trial to our self worth, but if,  we can remember that the help of the Savior is at our fingertips and we can access it any moment we need  … before pushing the panic button of retaliation  then we can live in the moments of bliss that we so desparately desire.

Like a diver remembers not to shoot to the surface for air we can count on God to be there for us because HE PROMISED that He would.

All believers have a story that ends in…but God.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  2 Corinthians 12:9

One thought on “Puzzles and pieces

Leave a Reply

