TENACITY- a strength or a weakness?

te·nac·i·ty
təˈnasədē/
noun
  1. the quality or fact of being able to grip something firmly; grip.
    synonyms: persistence, determination, perseverance, doggedness, strength of purpose, tirelessness, indefatigability, resolution, resoluteness, resolve, firmness, patience, purposefulness, staunchness, steadfastness, staying power, endurance, stamina, stubbornness, intransigence, obstinacy, obduracy, pertinacity

    “she practices her gymnastics routine with the tenacity of a bulldog”
    • the quality or fact of being very determined; determination.
    • the quality or fact of continuing to exist; persistence.
 During any hardship of life, whether physical, mental, or spiritual we practice the shoring up of our own strength but notice the duality of tenacity…it means both stamina and obstinacy.  Today I struggle with the difference.  Am I giving up too early or hanging on too long?  As a wise sage once told me, the details  of the trial are not important because it doesn’t change the facts.  Whatever your soul struggles with is a real danger, a snare to rob us of peace and assurance of hope.

Even If by MercyMe sums up the desperate feelings I have now and we all have when we are travelling through a hard trial.  It hits our soul with anguish and the feeling of total helplessness.

I am praying and searching the scriptures while well meaning friends are offering tempting actions, that may relieve me of the suffering I am enduring; however, time and again I am reminded…

Ps 27:14 Wait for the Lord, be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!

Romans 8: 24  For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have?

Galations 2:20  I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I that live, but Christ liveth in me: and that life which I now live in the flesh I live in faith, the faith which is in the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself up for me.

and mostly:

1 Peter 5:7 casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.

I find it easier “said than done”.  Day after day, I bring it before Him but still the tentacles of this mess creep into every occasion to try to steal my JOY.  Like cancer, it remains tenaciously under the surface.. the enemy..ever lurking..waiting for opportunity to rear uptentacles

Thank you, bloggers that produce the encouraging messages warming my heart beyond belief and reaching through the fog in the valley of doubt to lift my spirits in hope once again.

Looking ever to My Lord and Savior.  Praise Him for my delivery.  Only Complete Surrender can bring the comfort of Peace that Sustains the Soul.9-10-2009-17

2 thoughts on “TENACITY- a strength or a weakness?

Leave a Reply

